savor.

In just a week, Shauna Niequist’s new book will be released…Savor.  I will be eagerly checking the mailbox, as a pre-orderer, the book ought to be arriving very soon.  If you haven’t had the chance to sample any of Shauna’s books, please do…Cold Tangerines, Bittersweet and Bread and Wine.  She shares pieces of her heart – the real, raw deal – filled with warmth and charm.  I had the opportunity to preview and review her past two books – read about them here and here.

And to top it all off, Shauna shares her recipes!  My B’studs – a group of dear ladies that I meet every Monday morn at 6 am to share life’s burdens and joys, as we connect over a bible study or book discussion – took a stab at some of those recipes last week.  Oh my. Bon gou! Delicious!  There is something sweet about the gathering of friends around a dinner table.

Stephanie and Laurie provided crackers, cheese and olives. I do believe there should be olives at ALL dinner parties.

Nan made the Bacon wrapped-goat cheese figs.  I could have probably stopped right there.  So satisfied!

bacon wrapped goat cheese stuffed figsMimi made Brannon’s Caesar Salad – light and fresh and lemony. Shirley baked the Sullivan Street Bread – in fact, she even baked a second loaf in fear we may not like it. But we did!! (Sorry – Sooo busy eating that I missed pics.)

Krissy made the Steak au Poivre with Cognac Pan Sauce. Who knew you could made a steak in a pan?  I thought they had to be grilled!?! Oh and the sauce. Yum!

Steak au Poivre with Cognac Pan SauceAmy made Basic Risotto – but she never really follows a recipe when she cooks, so there were extras in her version…mushrooms and plenty of cheese…creamy goodness.

Basic Risotto

I chose to bake the Blueberry Crisp for dessert.  I am not gonna lie – baking a crisp without butter and sugar made me nervous.  Maple syrup? Olive oil? But it was amazing!  We ate it straight up with no whipped cream…in fact I could have eaten it for breakfast! Loved the crunchy oatmeal pecan topping.

blueberry crispGather your people…dig out some recipes…pour a glass of wine and savor the good things in life.  We did all of this on a week night…following a crazy day at work…and returning to real life the next morn.  Think what could be done on a Saturday?

Bread and Wine

But I do want you to love what you eat, and to share food with people you love, and to gather people together, for frozen pizza or filet mignon, because I think the gathering is of great significance.

All recipes can be found in Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist.

 

Leave a Reply

