it’s really just about the people.

Tomorrow begins another school year…early meetings and trainings kick off in the morning…the rest of the staff return next week…then the students arrive following Labor Day.  I could be feeling anxious or stressed with the end of summer and the return to full weeks of work…OR I could be feeling at ease, ready for routine and excited to get back at it.  Well…truth is, I feel a little bit of both. Naturally.  Yet when I really stop and think about it, I am simply happy to have had a little vacation time…and so very grateful for the people in my life that make it all worthwhile!

My final weekend of summer was filled with sweet connections…there were dinners and drinks with friends on a patio in the city…two coffee dates with cousins…a jog/walk around a lake with a pal and her dog…an afternoon matinee with my hubby…breakfast downtown with friends visiting from NoDak…yoga and a glass of wine with my cousin/flowergirl…phone calls and texts with my sis and my girlie.

So many sweet conversations about things in life that really matter.  The work, the meetings, the planning – those things matter too, but REALLY it is just about the people. In all I do, I savor the moments spent with others…sharing life together.

So as another school year begins, I will seek connections…with colleagues, with students.  I will keep working at the balancing act of leaving work at work, so that I can enjoy the time spent with family and friends.

I will listen more…laugh more…love more.

Here’s to another great year ahead!

boys being boys

“Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.” -Leo Buscaglia

Leave a Reply

