wanting more.

Does the desire to want more ever end? It is summer in Minnesota , the glorious few weeks we get with beautiful weather to be outdoors…I am wishing that I could have joined my pals for a walk last night…or a weekend up north at Melinda’s cabin…or at a ballpark or soccer field to watch my nephews…or floating on the pontoon at my parents (in fact they both celebrated their monumental 70th b’days this summer and I was not able to join them.) So many places I wish I were.  So many things I wish I were doing. I want to sit on a backyard patio, or around a campfire, or lounge on a floatie in the middle of a lake.  I want to read books for fun-to watch late night TV-to sleep for 8+ hours.

The past couple of weeks have been a whirlwind, with work projects, grad school, Kozefò planning/processing.  My brain is overflowing. I am exhausted. There are moments when all I want to do is quit it all…move to a remote location and relax in a hammock by the beach.

But no, I will persevere.  I will write the 8 papers, create the 3 presentations, map out a professional development plan, draft non-profit by-laws, check and respond to email, load the dishwasher, fill my vehicle with gas….

Because that is what we do.  We keep moving.  One day at a time. One project at a time. We survive. My adorable little sunroom office space cannot hold me…I have moved to the family table with all of my piles…

life at the moment

In the midst of it all, there have been little moments of wonder and fun.  My dear bride-to-be daughter came home for a week of vacation. [A super sweet gift, since the hubby is in NoDak, taking care of the parentals.] We have squeezed in wedding-planning conversations, dress shopping, and dinner dates. Such a refreshing change of pace to discuss menu options, flowers, and wedding attire…as opposed to the issues of budgets, conciliation, and maltreatment.

dessert and dress shopping

So really, when all is said and done, life is a constant balancing act…of doing what needs to be done and doing what we choose to do.  I may always want more, but such is life. Ultimately, we will never be fully satisfied until heaven. So I continue, to keep on keeping on.  Hope your summer days are filled with more of what you WANT to do and LESS of what you have to do.

One thought on “wanting more.

  1. from a fellow juggler…you are doing a beautiful job and doing it with gratitude. I’m sure that God is saying, “well done, good and faithful servant”. Enjoy the process/gift of today:)

Leave a Reply

