memorial morning.

memorial morningThe morning began with a cup of coffee out on the front stoop…with a new devo…setting the perspective for the day (actually for life in general.)

Gratitude abounds for the life I am gifted to live…for freedoms, for opportunities…and heartache for those that have lost loved ones to war…for battling the causes of our nation.

I am a joy seeker…a peace lover.

And yet, the reality is that I can grumble and complain way too frequently.  It becomes a daily battle to choose the higher ground-the positive side of life.  Effort is required to choose joy…to choose love.

Circumstances and silly irritations make me a person that I do not appreciate so much!  Learning to breathe and walk away is necessary.

The words I read today translated the Galatians fruit of the spirit into the contemporary Message version:

But what happens when we live God’s way?  He brings gifts into our lives, much the same way that fruit appears in an orchard – things like affection for others, exuberance about life, serenity. We develop a willingness to stick with things, a sense of compassion in the heart, and a conviction that a basic holiness permeates things and people.  We find ourselves involved in loyal commitments, not needing to force our way in life, able to marshal and direct our energies wisely.

I will choose to seek God’s will for my life, keeping my eyes open to the gifts he continually brings my way.

I will seek love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

Leave a Reply

