happy at home…and other super sweet blessings.

home officeThe realization occurred to me today, that I could be really happy being a “work from home” kind of worker.  Slip into comfies and a pair of slippers, pour myself a cup of coffee, connect with Sara Groves Radio on Pandora, and get to work!  I could sit here for hours…reading, researching, responding to email…making calls, planning presentations. Hmmm? What could that look like?  How do I find a job that would allow me to work in this manner? I can be focused and driven…and not be distracted by my surroundings.  This could work!  I need to figure out a way to make that happen!

On another note, as I sit in my makeshift home office, dreaming about a career that would let me work from here, let me share a couple of sweet blessings from the past week…

cousinsI have a pretty amazing family, just saying. These are people that I would choose to spend time with-even if we were not related! They are kind, creative and fun. These are the same peeps that I make memories with each year and enjoy a little one on one time with!

My eldest niece and nephew impacted our family deeply this Christmas, with their insightful reflections.  Avalon is a senior in high school this year, thinking about her future and pondering her memories.  She hunted through Pinterest and found quotes for each of us, framed them and attached a personal note about why she chose that particular sentiment. “…I find myself realizing that I’m so blessed. These past 17 years have been filled with so many ups and downs; moments of celebration, moments of laughter, and many moments of love.  But my greatest memories come from my family. And my greatest blessings are my family as well.  When it all comes down to it, I owe it all to you.  If you are reading this right now, you have played a vital role in my life.  You have shaped me and supported me through it all…” Such incredible wisdom from this sweet young chica!  The rest of the letter was personal and touching and something I will cherish.  Here is a peek at the quotes selected for her Uncle Bob and me!

quotes

JP also filled my heart and brought me and the rest of the fam to tears this year.  Our family has shared a tradition for years of expressing our blessings, adding a candle to the Jesus Birthday cake. It is often a tender, emotional moment (imagine that! tears from me? of course!) as we reflect on all that we are grateful for. JP’s 16 year old perspective included deep gratitude for his family, waking up each day thankful for the life he has…knowing that the realities for so many other kids in  the world is nothing near the sweet life he is living. He was emotionally choked up, as he spoke and shared several thoughts, and the tears flowed freely down my cheeks and others. He is wise beyond his years.  He is a helper and a giver, caring for others with all sincerity.

sharing blessings

As 2013 comes to an end, I am grateful. I am blessed.

Leave a Reply

