stillness.

‘Tis the season to be jolly. Fa la la la la…

It is just December 9th, but I have been filling the holiday season with fun and festive activities…gift exchanges…cookie baking…dinners with friends and fam..shopping…Christmas card sending & receiving…decorating…listening & singing along to Christmas carols…watching holiday films and shows (The Story Tour and Elf the Musical)…parties…

I love it all! This season could last for months with all of it’s joy and goodwill.

And yet…in the midst of all the festivities, I long to just chill on the sofa and be still…to have time to reflect and breathe and ponder the incredible blessings of Christmas and all that it really means.

In the chapter I read this week for my Saturday study, I was challenged to seek restfulness… “a form of awareness, a way of being amid the noise of life. It is being in my ordinary, busy life with a sense of ease, gratitude, appreciation, peace, and prayer. It is the robin sitting peacefully on her nest, perched on a branch above the thundering waterfall.” [from Satisfy My Thirsty Soul by Linda Dillow.]

So today, as the snow is falling, I will sit…and savor the quiet…and let the to-do list wait for another day.

image

“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

One thought on “stillness.

Leave a Reply

