question askers.

Is it really that difficult to ask a question?

Many people I know are simply “tellers.”  They share about their life – their joys, their issues – they match my story with one of their own.  Rarely, if ever, do they ask a question. They talk a lot…and a lot about themselves. They seem uninterested in even knowing me or maybe they are simply unaware of how it appears.

It would be interesting to see what they even know about the people in their lives…

And yet…I have a handful of people in my life that are GREAT question askers.  They are awesome!  They are the ones that I want to be with.  They ask real questions, deep ones, probing.  They seek to know me.  They remember and return to follow up, even days or weeks later, remembering something that I had shared.  These folks are rare.  They are a gift. I am thankful for the question askers in my life.

So…who are the question askers in your life? How do they make you feel? What kind of question asker are you? Try it…ask some questions…and really listen…then ask some more…don’t try to relate or match their tale, just listen and let it be their story.

Leave a Reply

