who are these people?

I drove through downtown and along the Mississippi this week one day at noon.  And there were people..everywhere!  They were on cell phones, eating al fresco, rollerblading, pushing strollers, walking dogs…. They were everywhere!

Who are they? What do they do? How are they free to be out and about in the middle of the day?

I have been an educator for over twenty years…eating my midday meal in a teacher’s lounge or in front of a computer screen as I caught up on emails.  The 30 minute lunch period was often reduced to 22 minutes (or less) after I had gotten my students to the cafeteria, conferred with other staff, and listened to my voicemail. And now I am blessed to have a little more freedom to enjoy a full 30 minute lunch break occasionally.

But when I drove through downtown today these folks were most likely free for longer than 30 minutes! They were sipping Venti Lattes at Starbucks, they were lined up to buy burrito bowls at Chipotle, they were grooving to their iPods as they wandered through Kellogg Park. I have to admit, I was a bit envious. I wanted to be one of them. I wanted to linger over a scone or simply sit and look at the river view.

And yet, I am blessed to be in the business of taking care of children and empowering teachers to be their best.  And so, I will continue with my 30 minute lunches, and phonecalls and emails….and wait for summer.

2 thoughts on “who are these people?

  1. This brought a smile to my face. ENVIOUS, YES! Bright side, less than 30 days and I too will be wandering about on MY TIME.

    • So glad you can appreciate and understand my envy! Savor your “less than 30 days” and then bring on summer! Love seeing your FB updates about the adorable young men in your home! Great fam!

Leave a Reply

