breakfast with my girlie

I love puttering away in my kitchen…I even love it better when I have someone to share my goodies with.  My college girlie and a pal came home late last night.  And they are still sleeping…at 10:40 am.  Gotta love lazy Saturdays!

So this morning it is quick quiche and baked caramel french toast.  The perfect items to make the night before and pop in the oven in the morn.  (I needed something to do while I waited for them to arrive last night…well there is pinterest, but I will comment on that in a future post.)

Quick Quiche

from my grandma’s church cookbook:  The Kongsvinger Kokk Bok

  • 1 pie crust
  • 1 cup meat (I used diced hickory ham from a ham steak)
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (I used monterey jack)
  • 1 shallot (optional)…feel free to add other veggies…diced red peppers would be delish!
  • 1 cup milk
  • 6 eggs
  • salt and pepper

Unroll pie crust into pie plate.  Bake at 375 degrees for 10 minutes to brown.  Slice shallot and saute until tender. Add diced ham (or prepare other meat option.) Heat until lightly browned.  Put meat and shallot in bottom of pie crust.  Add cheese.  In a small mixing bowl, whisk eggs, milk, salt and pepper.  Pour over meat and cheese.  Bake at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

If baking the night before, allow to cool, cover with tinfoil and refrigerate until morn.  Pop in the oven to reheat.

Baked Caramel French Toast

from a friend’s mom: Bree brought this recipe home from a sleepover in elementary school

Topping:

  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 6 Tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 Tablespoon honey

French Toast:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4″ diagonal slices French bread

Spray a 9×13 pan with non-stick spray.  In medium saucepan combine all topping items.  Cook over medium heat until smooth.  Do not boil.  Pour topping into prepared pan.  Beat together eggs, milk, vanilla and salt.  Dip each bread slice in egg mixture.  Place bread slices over topping in pan.  Cover; refrigerate 8 hours or overnight.  To serve:  heat oven to 400 degrees, uncover and bake 20-25 minutes until bubbly and toast is golden brown.  Serve toast topping side up.  Serve immediately. (Otherwise caramel topping hardens and makes it difficult to chew.)  🙂

One thought on “breakfast with my girlie

Leave a Reply

