hearts for haiti

I have had a longing to travel to Haiti for quite some time.  Two sweet nephews joined our family and I have desired to give back, to the country that started life for these boys that have captured my heart.  The longing started years ago and  it has been pulling on my heart strings on and off over time.  Although I have had this desire to go, it has always been unclear what I am being called to do.  Do I join a group on a mission trip…do I support programs financially from here…do I commit to a specific project?  I see the “needs,” yet my role in all of it remains unclear.

However, I have come to a place of peace…a radical peace that is calling me to go.  I will trust that God has a plan and I will go.  I will pursue His will and offer my time and talents to wherever that may be.

And so…I booked a flight.  For me…and for our daughter.  And the amazing thing is that my sis and her two girls agreed to join us on this adventure.  They will travel with us to Port au Prince and introduce us to the people and the land that they love.  We will share in nearly a week together, of trusting God’s plan.

And then, when they depart, my girlie and I will remain…for the remainder of the month…simply living among the people of Haiti…loving on them…with open hearts to possibilities.  And we will trust.



3 thoughts on “hearts for haiti

  1. Love this! 🙂 So excited to embark on this adventure with you mama! Wouldn’t want to be doing it with anyone else, as well as my sweet auntie and cousins! I cannot wait to see what God is going to do in us during this time and oh how this is just going to transform our lives! Anxiously awaiting an incredible month in the dear country of Haiti with you! Love you lots!

  2. Sara, I’m excited to hear that you have taken that step of faith to buy your tickets! I look forward to hearing more details as the days grow closer. In the meantime, I will be praying for clarity and a continued feeling of peace and trust. There is NO doubt in my mind that God will use all of you while you’re there and that your love will be poured out on the people of Haiti in amazing ways! ♥

  3. I love the idea of totally relying on God’s will for this trip, that is where the blessings will be revealed. Let go and let God my friend! I will be praying for you and expecting nothing but God’s best as things fall into place & your journey takes shape!

    And those who know your name put their trust in you, for you, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek you.
    —Psalm 9:10

    Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness. Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him, and he will act. He will bring forth your righteousness as the light, and your justice as the noonday.
    —Psalm 37:3-6

Leave a Reply

