making lunch

In my quest to look at life “half full,” let me be honest and admit that I still get annoyed and hurt and irritated and dismayed.  There is so much ugliness in the world that it clearly is impossible to avoid…the economy, health care, proper funding of special education, inadequate parenting, major catastrophes like the earthquake in Haiti, cancer, drunk drivers….sadly I could continue…but I am choosing not to at this moment.

Needless to say, there are some really difficult burdens to bear in the world.  So why is it that it is often the LITTLEST things that seem to make people cranky (self included)????  For example…making lunches.  My resolution this fall was to make a lunch every day for work this year…save a little cash and a little time in my day.  But…this is no easy task!  I have to be intentional…purchase the right food options…make it the night before…and then remember to grab it on my way out!  I feel as though it has turned into an evening robotic ritual…

Go to pantry…get bread…go to fridge…get deli meat, cheese and butter.  Slap the butter on bread… top with available fixins…slip into a ziploc.  Go back to pantry…search for something salty…throw it in the bag.  Go back to fridge…hope for fresh fruit…if lucky, add to bag.  Fill water bottle.  Add to lunch bag.  Check.  Job complete.

See what I mean?  I am feeling a little dry in my cup of life!  I am needing to find a way to get the lunch made…with a bit more joy!

I have purchased the “peppered turkey”  and the “smoked Wisconsin provolone” to spice things up a bit.  The individual salty kettle chip packs are on the shelf and I just baked a batch of choc chip cookies.  So I am hoping that tomorrow’s adventure will feel a little less ritualistic.  🙂

If any of you out there have any fab lunch tips…PLEASE I beg you…add a comment.

5 thoughts on “making lunch

  1. I try to snack in between classes…cut cucumber, gummy bears, granola bar, banana, etc.. For lunch I have been grabbing a vanilla Slim Fast and a walking partner. 🙂

  2. Oh boy, do I understand this post! It’s exactly how I feel about the kids’ lunches and it’s only the 2nd week of school! Boring!!! I’m hoping someone that reads this has some great lunch tips too!

    Rachel picked out a mini baguette at Trader Joe’s tonight and was so excited about it–made herself a mini-sub sandwich with ham, cheese, lettuce and tomato for her lunch tomorrow.

    There’s a class at Kowalski’s next Saturday about packing lunches–we must not be alone in our lunch packing stuggle!

  3. On Sunday nights I set up my assembly line. I get out tons of fresh veggies, meats, cheeses and toppings and I go to town making salads. Each one gets made a little differently. Some get deli meat, some will get cottage cheese added at meal time, some get nuts or seeds, different kinds of cheeses, some get real fruit, some get dried fruit. Once I have them made, I put them in the fridge and then the morning of, I can choose what kind of dressing to throw in my lunchbox and what accompanyment I might be in the mood for, like some whole wheat crackers or something. Then I throw in a yogurt for my breakfast, a couple of pieces of fruit for snacks and I’m on the go! It took me a while to get into the habit but now that I’m there, it works like a charm!

  4. I hear ‘ya on this one – I too made the very same vow & after eating out for lunch every day for over a year – it has been a challenge to say the least! I had to “convince” myself that this was going to be fun, so these are some things that have worked thus far: 1. On Mondays I always do something a little “special” because it can be a harder day (ex. a special treat, note/quote to self, cookie cutter sandwich, etc…), 2. I have purchased a food grinder for the purpose of taking extra chicken/roast from a supper and making a nice spread for sandwiches or crackers, 3. the website http://www.fabulousfood.com – in the search type brown bag lunches – has some great ideas/tips that I have found useful, 4. I have developed a couple “staples” that are my go to when menu planning for the week: hummus (veggie dip, bread spread, etc…), chicken breast strips (bake up a bunch on Sunday evening use for the week), and fixins (sunflower seeds, walnuts, raisins, craisins, etc…) that can be added to any salad or dish to make it that much better. (WOW did I write all this!?)

  5. I face this every morning at 5:45am. Not only what to put in the lunch but who likes what this week. Seems I get them all packed and before they go out the door kids are trading in their BBQ chips for Sour Cream and Onion. I did find it helpful, however, to sit down with the kids and come up with 14 days worth of lunches that they will eat! Since they hate hot lunch, they were happy to comply. Just having the list available has been so helpful. It might mean cooking noodles at 6am or cooking tortillas but I don’t care. Just thinking about What to make is the hard part for me. Maybe when you are not tired or hungry, you could make your own list of fabulous lunches. If not, let me know and I will email you mine! Good luck, Kris

Leave a Reply

