more books…

I just finished my latest assigned reading for book club and wandered down to my shelves to choose something to reread or pluck something off the pile of loaners from my reading pals.  Such a difficult decision!  So many favorites..thought I would throw a list out there for anyone searching for another great read in these final dog days of summer before the responsibilities and schedules start to overtake our reading  time….

This is a random list….in no sort of order…just items on my book shelf or in a stack somewhere…

  • Traveling Mercies…Anne Lamott
  • Yada Yada Prayer Group (all 7 books)….Neta Jackson
  • Secret Life of Bees…Sue Monk Kidd
  • Deadline…Dominion…Deception…all by Randy Alcorn
  • Love Walked In….Belong to Me…both by Marisa do los Santos
  • Cold Tangerines…Shauna Niequist
  • The Middle Place…Kelly Corrigan
  • Nineteen Minutes…Jodi Piccoult
  • The Red Tent…Anita Diamant
  • The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down…Anne Fadiman
  • Mountains Beyond Mountains…Tracy Kidder
  • Black…Red…White…all by Ted Dekker
  • Redeeming Love…Francine Rivers
  • The Other Boleyn Girl…Philippa Gregory
  • The Kite Runner…A Thousand Splendid Suns…both by Khaled Hosseini
  • A Corner of the Universe…Ann M. Martin
  • Confessions of a Shopaholic…Sophie Kinsella
  • Blue Like Jazz…Donald Miller
  • Safely Home…Randy Alcorn
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time….Mark Haddon
  • The Help…Kathryn Stockett
  • Velvet Elvis…Rob Bell
  • The House on Mango Street…Sandra Cisneros
  • Growing Strong Daughters…Lisa Graham McMinn
  • Fresh Brewed Life…Nicole Johnson

Such a crazy list of books…some that challenge me….some to entertain…some to help me understand a completely different view.  Some made me laugh and some made me cry.  But through them all, I have grown and expanded my world (or maybe escaped my world) just a little bit!

2 thoughts on “more books…

Leave a Reply

