one word.

In 2011, I hopped on the One Word bandwagon and selected the word POSSIBILITIES. The funding was ending on my job, I had a heart/passion for Haiti, my girl was away at college…I chose to be open and willing to trust that the Lord had a plan.  It was a great word for that year. Doors were opened, I followed my heart.

Many individuals on social media are posting their words the past couple of weeks. My friends have chosen TRUSTING and FOCUS.  I gathered with some of my fav girlies last night to choose our ONE WORD for the year…even skyping with our pal spending the year in Finland as a foreign exchange student!

skyping

One Word 365 sums up the challenge like this:

Forget New Year’s Resolutions. Scrap that long list of goals you won’t remember three weeks from now anyway. 

Choose just one word.

One word that sums up who you want to be or how you want to live. One word that you can focus on every day, all year long.

It will take intentionality and commitment, but if you let it, your one word will shape not only your year, but also you. It will become the compass that directs your decisions and guides your steps.

Discover the big impact one word can make.

One word. 365 days. A changed life.

So…this year I have selected:

learn

I need to grow and learn in my faith. I am busy with my Haitian Creole audio lessons in the car.  I am headed back to grad school to get a Special Education Director’s license. I have already read two books this year and have a long list I hope to conquer.   I want to learn new recipes. I will learn to let go. This chick has decided it is never too old to learn!

So…what is your word?

2 thoughts on “one word.

  1. I love this Sara! This is my first year doing the One Word thing but I think it’s such a great idea….so I chose “Worthy”. I want to see myself the way my Heavenly Father sees me and believe my worth and that I am worthy of His love and the love of others….including someday a man:-) I also want to see others the way God sees them and make a point to encourage them and their worth as well. I think this is going to be a great year!!

Leave a Reply

